top of page

Chalk Paint Step Stool Makeover


I have been wanting to paint our step stool for awhile and I finally got to it thanks to Mother Nature! I had been working in the yard every nice weather day, but we got a bout of rain so into the garage to paint!

Our step stool is just a basic wood one from IKEA. This basic one right HERE. We've had it for at least 5 years. That's 5 years of dirty shoes, spilled food and drinks, and drips of paint. It was ready for a face lift!

See? Look at all that gunk and dirt!

I decided to use chalk paint because there's no sanding or priming involved. Once your piece is clean, you're ready to paint!

There's no way I'm going to shell out $30+ for store bought chalk paint when I can make it myself! I grabbed some leftover paint from another project and added baking soda in a one to one ratio. It's important to sift the baking soda so there are no lumps in your paint. Guess how I know that?!

Just mix it on up!

Beautiful color! This is Sherwin Williams Privilege Green. I mixed in some leftover Sherwin Williams Interesting Aqua making it a little more blue.

and Ta-da!! Doesn't it look so much nicer?! No more gunk and junk!

Before it was completely finished I used polyacrylic to seal the paint and also give some added protection and durability to the steps.

It's so pretty with flowers on it! I got the Flowers & Garden bucket from the Dollar Tree. It has Ikea greenery in it. I love not worrying about watering plants, because I will forget and it will die. The daffodils are cut from our garden.

And now further back so you can see the whole patio vignette! The cute welcome sign I made last year from a found piece of metal. There's another Ikea greenery present. The Home Sweet Home welcome mat is from Target. I got it through Top Cash Back with 100% cash back. After cash back I only paid the tax which came to around 42 cents! They do 100% cash back offers regularly but only for NEW accounts. Watch out for those and sign up when they have something you want.


Until next time!

HI - WE'RE THE PASSEY'S!

This blog chronicles our days as we strive to raise our family, be frugal, homeschool, and live our version of a suburban homestead life!

Thanks for passing by!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page